Devotions to Help you Marvel at our God!


The Steadfast Love of the Lord by dcorey
January 26, 2009, 10:40 pm
Filed under: Daniel Corey Devotions, Devotions | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Psalm 64:3 says, “Because Your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise You.” I memorized this verse last year for a counseling class and it revisits my mind often. Here, David affirms that the steadfast love of the Lord is better than life. To David, the love and kindness of God was more valuable, more satisfying, more precious to him than his own life. If we believe this, if it works its way down to our soul, where we can say with David that the steadfast love of God is dearer to us than life itself, then we will live lives in a manner worthy of the Gospel of Christ (Philippians 1:27).

We sin when we place higher value on immediate sinful pleasure then we place on the love of God. We deceive ourselves into believing that something else will bring greater pleasure, greater joy, greater satisfaction than the love of God, and that simply isn’t true. The result of valuing the steadfast love of the Lord more than life will be a life that is willing to abandon all, including life, to worship and obey the Lord. The greatest price that we can pay is our life, we have no more to give then that; and if we can say that the love of God is greater than that, then we would not hesitate to give all that we have to follow Him.

So the question that I want to leave with you today is this: do you believe that the steadfast love of God better than life? Can you say with David that, “My soul thirsts for you, my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water” (Psalm 63:1) or is the language of this psalm foreign to you? Does it seem wishful to desire God more than life and say with confidence, “ I will bless you as long as I live…my soul will be satisfied” (Psalm 63:4a; 5a).
I have found tremendous joy is praying this psalm back to the Lord and making the prayer of David our prayer, as we seek God as our sole satisfaction.
A slave to Christ-
Daniel C.
isa-planet11

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

To answer your question yes I do believe God’s steadfast love is better than life. To say that my soul thirsts for Him is another question. Do I really thirst for Him or do I thirst for the god I want Him to be? Thanks for the soul searching question. I think it will keep me on my knees for a while.

Comment by Bruce Dorcy




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

